Group Projects: Yea or Nay?

I have a love/hate relationship with group projects.

I like them because I get to talk to people, learn new things, work through problems, tackle issues, explore new ideas.

But I also dislike group projects because I lose control – of my grade, the thoughts, the work, most everything. So naturally, being the control freak that I am, I go insane. I make myself mad; I probably make other people mad.

So when group projects are necessary I do my best to think of these things.

  1. One person cannot bring down an entire group project. Why? Because of the very nature of a group project. It is made by a group not one person.
  2. Trusting others is a valuable, often painful, practice. Someone may not do the work exactly as you would have done it, but that’s why we have group projects to begin with. To see how other brains work and how that can help us.
  3. One bad grade is a reality, but not a disaster. Working dependently is hard because its unusual, and one might get a bad grade, but guess what, its not a tragedy.
  4. They are ultimately helpful. At least for me, I can always come out of it having found some good. For instance, I got to know someone I would not have talked originally. Or, I learned something new that somebody brought up that I had spent my whole life not knowing, as if!
  5. They are applicable to life. Most of our life is, and will be, spent around people and working with people. There is not much we can do about it. Might as well get used to it.

PS: Answer this poll! Just for fun. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Group Projects: Yea or Nay?

  1. Reid I most absolutely agree with you on all our points that you have mentioned in your blog. I strongly agree that group projects are applicable to life , I like how you ended with that point. Just to make your argument or point stronger I would have backed up that point with an example showing how we apply it to our lives. The breaking down of your points works really well so we are not just reading chunks of writing. The method of breaking down your points as well makes it clear to read and easy to understand your points you state. Your points are very concise and are not very long which is good because it keeps the reader engaged.

    Like

  2. Hey Reid. Your blog post was very straight forward and organised, it showed you knew exactly what you were talking about and it avoided any possible confusion. The fact that you focused on the positive side of group project even though you mentioned that you have a love/relationship with it gives an insight to the reader as to who you are as a person (a glass half-full kind of person). I like how you rebutted the negative side of group projects while still focusing in the positive side. I would have talked about a personal experience regarding group projects to make my post more effective. Hope my comment was helpful 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

