More Reading (Can’t Help It)

I really did not want to read the Scarlet Letter.

So being my honest-to-goodness-grumpy-silly-11th-grade-mature self, I waited till the weekend before it was due, then, I put the book on my bedside table. Then, I waited a couple hours. Then, I made myself a cup of coffee. Then, I got some snacks. Then, I hit play on my Mumford and Sons playlist. Then, I sat on my bed, equipped with sticky notes and a pen. Then, I read.

Needless to say, I procrastinated. I’m sorry.

So I read the Scarlet Letter and probably didn’t enjoy as much as I could have. And this is what I learned:

I’m not nearly as good of a reader as I thought I was.

I’ve always been a reader and I’ve always thought myself a “good” reader.

(Hey, there is a whole post on reading!)

But when I began to read the Scarlet Letter, I had to drop this idea that I had of being a “good” reader. I wasn’t because I couldn’t recognize my thoughts as they came. I couldn’t write down what I was thinking in meaningful sentences. I couldn’t understand what Hawthorne’s diction meant and how it was contributing to the feelings I was experiencing. I was oblivious to heavy-handed, clever allusions being made in conjunction with brilliant writing.

So I think I learned that I can always grow in my understanding. Especially in such things like reading. I can always learn to better inhale the glory of magnificent writing, even if I procrastinate, especially if I procrastinate.

 

2 thoughts on “More Reading (Can’t Help It)

  1. Reid, this was a fun post to read.
    I like how you used ‘then’ in the second paragraph. The repetition of the word helped create the feeling of how you dreaded starting The Scarlet Letter, and dragged on as much time as possible to start reading it. Your use of the word helped me feel like I was in the situation you were in.
    One improvement you could make is your last line. The line seemed to contradict what you said previously about how procrastination did not help you enjoy the book. It was difficult to understand if procrastination had a negative effect on your reading or if it had a positive effect on your reading. But other than that, great job!

    Like

  2. Hey Reid! 🙂

    I really enjoyed reading your post, it was fun and engaging. I love that you are very honest with your reader and confessed to reading The Scarlet Letter the weekend before it was due. I was really able to relate with your post because I also procrastinated a lot with the Scarlet letter reading assignment. I really liked how you described yourself as an ” honest-to-goodness-grumpy-silly-11th-grade-mature self”. Your use of humor made your post very interesting, fun and entertaining to read. However, you didn’t quite define what a “good” reader really is. I also found your last concluding sentence a little confusing, are you saying that procrastinating would help you ‘inhale the glory of magnificent writing”. If so, how does procrastinating help you inhale the glory of magnificent writing.
    Overall, excellent job, I enjoyed your writing style and hearing your voice as i read your writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

