{Thoughts in an Airport}

A chef passes
Grey apron, white slacks,
Saying, “Hallo, hallo?”
Into his phone

A woman in tight white pants
Yellow high tops
Rolling a floral suitcase

A bearded fellow
Blank expression, hiking boots
Wearing a large blue backpack

An older woman with a hijab
Twins at her side
Matching
Hopping along

A blond haired woman
Wearing high waisted boot cut jeans
A white crop top
Looking harried

A dark haired man
Wearing a wrinkled checkered shirt
Arms folded
Looking serious

A woman with dark hair
Pinned up eighties style
In a tracksuit

A teenage boy
In shorts
Kicking a soccer ball
Holding a phone in one hand

A young boy pushing a
Luggage cart
Animatedly and dangerously

A woman wrapped
In expansive patterned fabric
Holding a bundle of peacock feathers
Over her shoulder

A woman in a jumpsuit covered
In neon flower prints
Wearing white platform shoes
Carrying a stretched shopping bag

A man wearing a shirt that says
Ain’t no time for shaving
Jean capris

Towing a daughter wearing
A striped shirt
Bouncing along

A toddler
Losing track of his steps
Following his mom

A tall black man
With clunky boots
A big black backpack
Wearing an
Elmo t-shirt

I used to wonder why humans are so scared
Of people who do not look like them.
And yet, I sit with my back against the wall,
Eyes shifting and darting towards the people rushing
In front of me and I am scared.

They are not predictable.
My brain has become – is taught to be –
Scared of the unpredictable,
The uncontrollable.

I refuse, I say to myself,
I refuse to take part in the fear.
So even as

The man in black skinny jeans
A purple shirt
And a black backpack
Walks by a little close

I do not pull my knees to my chest
I do not avert my eyes
Instead
I smile.

4 thoughts on “{Thoughts in an Airport}

  1. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s equally educative and engaging, and let
    me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The issue is something that too few folks are
    speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very happy I found this during
    my search for something relating to this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

