{don’t build walls}

instead of building walls
I built a bridge

I strung together
words
as a rope
wrapping each
tight around
the next

I laid poems
as a path
resting on my words

I laced together
my cries of
hopelessness
as a railing

I built my bridge
strong

strong
so I could
walk over it

strong
so my thoughts
would stretch
and hold

strong
so my ideas
would hold
steady

strong
so my pain
would hold me back
from the empty
void
beneath

strong so I would not
falter
as I walked
the bridge
that spans
the space
between my heart
and the world

Leave a Reply

