I’m Done.

For a long time, I’ve had a quote taped to my wall that reads, “I will respect your opinion as long as your opinion doesn’t disrespect anyone else’s existence.”

I don’t think many things are black and white, but I think this motto of mine is pretty darn close.

I will respect your belief that we should have lower taxes. I will respect your belief that tattoos aren’t okay. I will respect your belief that pineapple on pizza is disgusting. I will respect those beliefs because they do not disrespect anyone else’s existence as a human on the planet.

I am done respecting and trying to make peace with people who want to kick people out of the country. I will not respect the opinion that the LGBTQ+ community is delusional or wrong or needs to ‘get over it.’ I will not respect the denial of human rights like safety, health, and love. I will not respect these opinions because they are disrespecting the very essence of someone’s existence.

That is not okay.

I will not, and can not and should not, respect your opinion if it disrespects anyone else’s existence. Period.

4 thoughts on “I’m Done.

  1. Hi Reid! How are you doing?!
    Do you mean to use “disrespect” or “undermine” at the end of your third paragraph, as in “I will respect those beliefs because they do not [undermine] anyone else’s existence […] ?”
    I like your posts and I miss you a lot 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

